Bangalore Gayana Samaja concerts

Bangalore Gayana Samaja is organizing its 38th music conference from the 13th to the 20th of August 2006. The concerts scheduled for this period are as follows:

13th Aug 2006
Saxaphone: Kadri Gopalnath
Violin: A. Kanyakumari
Mridangam: V.Praveen
Ghatam: Vaikkom Gopalakrishnan
Khanjira: A.S.N.Swamy
Morsing: B.Rajasekar

14th Aug 2006
Carnatic Vocal: Bombay Jayashri Ramnath
Violin: Mysore Srikanth
Mridangam: Satish Kumar
Khanjira: Rajagopalan

15th Aug 2006
Carnatic Vocal: Madurai T.N.Seshagopalan (my all time favorite)
Violin: H.K.Venkatram
Mridangam: Umayalapuram K. Sivaraman
Khanjira: N.Amruth

16th Aug 2006
Veena-violin jugalbandi: Jayanthi & Kumaresh
Mridangam: Arjun Kumar
Ghatam: Sukanya Ramagopal

17th Aug 2006
Carnatic Vocal: R.K.Padmanabha
Violin: Mysore Manjunath
Mridangam: C. Cheluvaraju
Ghatam: G.S.Ramanujan

18th Aug 2006
Carnatic Vocal: T.M.Krishna (one of my favorite vocalists of the present generation)
Violin: R.K.Sriramkumar
Mridangam: K.V.Prasad
Ghatam: Giridhar Udupa

19th Aug 2006
Violin Duet: Mysore Manjunath & Mysore Nagaraj
Mridangam: Srimushnam V. Raja Rao
Morsing: Vyasa Vittala

20th Aug 2006
Bharatnatyam: Sridhara & Anuradha

The season ticket for the complete conference is Rs. 150 for non-members and Rs. 120 for members. Alternatively, once can buy tickets for the individual concerts for Rs. 30.

All concerts are from 6PM to 9PM.

Most of the concerts are by artistes who are very well known in the field. The accompanists are also class artists themselves. For example, some of the best senior mridangists are playing in this music conference (Umayalapuram K. Sivaraman, Palghat Raghu, Srimushnam Raja Rao). Eagerly looking forward to these concerts.

Apart from these concerts, there are also expert sessions from 9:45AM to 12:15PM. The schedule for the same is as follows:

Conference President: Mysore V Subramanya

14th Aug 2006: Inauguration; Key note address by Dr. V.V.Srivatsa; Lecture Demonstration by Bombay Jayashri

15th Aug 2006: Muthiah Bhagavathar – T.N.Seshagopalan & Face-to-face with Umayalapuram Sivaraman (Q&A)
16th Aug 2006: Jayachamaraja Wodeyar – Dr. Sukanya Prabhakar; Mysore Sadashivarao – Dr. R.K.Srikantan & demo by M.S. Sheela, T.S.Satyavati & R.A.Ramamani

17th Aug 2006: Mysore Vasudevacharya – S. Rajaram; Music in Dance – Maya Rao & demo by artists of Institute of Kathak and Coreography

18th Aug 2006: Veena Seshanna – Mysore V. Subramanya & demo by Rajalakshmi Tirunarayanan; Lakshya & lakshana in Carnatic music – T.M.Krishna

19th Aug 2006: Ganapathi in music – M.S.Sheela; Padam & Javali – Mysore Nagamani Srinath; Concluding remarks by President; Resolutions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s